RICHARD TESCHNER


Richard Teschner
Carlsbad 1879 - 1948 Vienna

"Still life"
Oil on canvas on cardboard
28.5 x 21.5 cm
Monogrammed and dated. (19)24 o.r.

Provenance:
Library of the Cooperative of Fine Artists, Vienna

Until his death in 1948, Teschner largely completed the wide range of tasks for his puppet stage himself. He worked as a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, stage and costume designer, director and filmmaker.

Richard Teschner was born in Karlovy Vary in 1879 and studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Prague from 1895 to 1899. In addition to his studies, he came into contact with the Prague literati of the time very early on. It was through her that he first came close to the mystical ideas of indigenous literature with its exotic teachings. Driven away from the confines of the Bohemian capital, Teschner moved to Vienna in 1899. He was denied the opportunity to study at the Academy in Vienna. He began working at the School of Arts and Crafts. But the capital city of Vienna was also too narrow for him, too small in its artistic freedom. This prompted Richard Teschner to return to his home country, where he taught himself various artistic skills. His second stay in Vienna was far more successful than the first. From 1909 to 1912 he worked for the Wiener Werkstätte. He achieved his real international breakthrough in 1912 with his “Figurenbühne”, a fantastic puppet theater inspired by the technique of Javanese wajang figures.

Richard Teschner was also very successful as a director, filmmaker, sculptor, graphic artist and designer and is known today for his mystical, whimsical sculptures and art objects. He created extraordinary works of art and objects in clay, wood, stone, metal and ceramics.

Teschner has also made an appearance as a painter. He made a name for himself not only as a graphic artist and illustrator, but also as a creator of high-quality paintings. He also created this small-format still life in the New Objectivity style. A glimpse into a world of play and literature. A dialog between different genres and yet so obvious. After all, the words are just as free and creative as our children’s play.

RICHARD TESCHNER


Richard Teschner
Karlsbad 1879 - 1948 Wien

„Stillleben“
Öl auf Leinwand auf Karton
28,5 x 21,5 cm
Monogrammiert und dat. (19)24 o.r.

Provenienz:
Bibliothek der Genossenschaft der bildenden Künstler, Wien

Das breite Aufgabengebiet seiner Figurenbühne füllte Teschner bis zu seinem Tod 1948 größtenteils selbst aus. So wirkte er unter anderem als Maler, Grafiker, Bildhauer, Bühnen-, Kostümbildner, Regisseur und Filmemacher.

Der 1879 in Karlsbad geborene Richard Teschner studierte von 1895 – 1899 an der Kunstakademie in Prag. Neben seinem Studium hatte er schon sehr früh Kontakt zu den Prager Literaten der Zeit. Durch Sie bekam er erstmals Nähe zu den mystischen Gedanken der einheimischen Literatur mit ihren exotischen Lehren. Von der Enge der böhmischen Hauptstadt fortgetrieben zog es Teschner 1899 nach Wien. Studien an der Akademie in Wien blieben ihm verwährt. So begann er an der Kunstgewerbeschule zu arbeiten. Aber auch die Hauptstadt Wien war ihm zu eng, zu klein in ihrer künstlerischen Freiheit. Dies bewog Richard Teschner in seine Heimat zurückzukehren wo er sich unterschiedliche künstlerische Fähigkeiten autodidaktisch anlernte. Sein zweiter Wien Aufenthalt wurde weit erfolgreicher als der erste. 1909 – 1912 arbeitete er für die Wiener Werkstätte. Den wirklichen internationalen Durchbruch erlangte er 1912 mit seiner „Figurenbühne“, einem fantastischen Marionettentheater welches von der Technik javanischer Wajangfiguren inspiriert wurde.

Richard Teschner war auch als Regisseur, Filmemacher, Bildhauer Grafiker und Designer sehr erfolgreich und ist heute für seine mystischen, skurrilen Skulpturen und Kunstgegenstände bekannt. In Ton, Holz, Stein, Metall oder Keramik schuf er aussergewöhnliche Kunstwerke und Objekte.

Als Maler ist Teschner ebenfalls in Erscheinung getreten. Nicht nur als Grafiker & Illustrator sondern auch als Schöpfer von qualitativ hochwertigen Gemälden machte er sich über die Grenzen hinaus einen Namen. So schuf er auch dieses kleinformatige Stillleben im Stil der neuen Sachlichkeit. Ein Blick in eine Welt des Spieles und der Literatur. Ein Zwiegespräch unterschiedlicher Genres und doch so naheliegend. Sind doch die Worte genauso frei und kreativ wie das Spiel unserer Kinder.