CARL FAHRINGER


Carl Fahringer
Wiener Neustadt 1874 - 1952 Vienna

"Floating market in Bali"
Oil on cardboard
39.5 x 66 cm
Signed u.r.

Exhibition:
Wiener Künstlerhaus, on the reverse. Label

Carl Fahringer was born in Wiener Neustadt, south of Vienna, in 1874.

From 1894 to 1898 he studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna under Sigmund L’allemand, Christian Griepenkerl and August Eisenmenger. He then moved to Munich for four years to study at the academy there under Carl von Marr, where he began his artistic career and illustrated fairy tales. Works by Wilhelm Hauff and the Brothers Grimm are worth mentioning. He also decorated writings by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and Adalbert Stifter.

After completing his studies, study trips took the artist to southern Europe and the Middle East. After his return, Carl Fahringer became a member of the Hagenbund from 1903 to 1905 and of the Vienna Künstlerhaus from 1907.

During the First World War, Fahringer was stationed in Italy and Russia as a war painter; pictures from this period are now in the Museum of Military History in Vienna. Further trips to Holland, Bali, Java and Sumatra followed in 1921 and 1929, where the exotic landscape and wildlife made a deep impression on him and inspired his vibrant work. From 1929 to 1945 he took up a professorship at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna (1938/39 head of the master class), from 1939 head of the specialist class for animal and landscape painting.

CARL FAHRINGER


Carl Fahringer
Wiener Neustadt 1874 - 1952 Wien

„Schwimmender Markt auf Bali“
Öl auf Karton
39,5 x 66 cm
Signiert u.r.

Ausstellung:
Wiener Künstlerhaus, rücks. Etikett

Carl Fahringer wurde 1874 in Wiener Neustadt, südlich von Wien geboren.

In den Jahren 1894 bis 1898 absolvierte er das Studium an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien bei Sigmund L’allemand, Christian Griepenkerl und August Eisenmenger. Im Anschluss übersiedelt er für vier Jahre nach München um an der dortigen Akademie bei Carl von Marr zu studieren wo seine  künstlerische Tätigkeit begann und er Märchen illustrierte. Zu erwähnen sind Werke von Wilhelm Hauff und der Gebrüder Grimm. Auch Schriften von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe und Adalbert Stifter staffierte er..

Nach Beendigung des Studiums führen Studienreisen den Künstler nach Südeuropa und in den Vorderen Orient. Anschließend, nach seiner Rückkehr wird Carl Fahringer von 1903 bis 1905  Mitglied des Hagenbundes, ab 1907 des Wiener Künstlerhauses.

Während des ersten Weltkriegs wird Fahringer als Kriegsmaler in Italien und Russland stationiert; Bilder dieser Zeit befinden sich heute im Heeresgeschichtlichen Museum in Wien. In den Jahren 1921 und 1929 folgen weitere Reisen nach Holland, Bali, Java und Sumatra, wo ihn die exotische Landschaft und Tierwelt tief beeindrucken und in seinem lebendigen Schaffen inspirierten. Von 1929 bis 1945 nimmt er eine Professur an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien an (1938/39 Leiter der Meisterklasse), ab 1939 Leiter der Fachklasse für Tier- und Landschaftsmalerei.